Bali bye.

Eh bien Mesdames et M’sieurs.  This was going to be a brief missive, the merest whiff of a post dashed off in haste as I winged my way out of the door and into a waiting aeroplane.  Can’t you just see my suitcase trailing chiffon scarves and feel those kisses blown from my fingertips?  (All very Isadora Duncan before the car trip, I know).

isadoraflying

It has been a rather grim couple of months trudging through my crappy health issues, and as well as that there have been a couple of big parental health scares.  When we arrived at my birthday a couple of weeks ago Mr Pimp, gawd luv  ‘im, suggested  we find a cheapie break and take ourselves off for a few days.  And so we set our caps at Ubud.  The plane was booked for this afternoon, the Herberts stowed, the suitcases packed, and we were more than ready to go.

Pura Dalem Agung Padangtegal Temple, Ubud

Except. Except. A most exceptionable except.

My passport has gone missing!

It has vanished, seemingly, off the face of the earth. Gone off on a little sojourn of its own.  Or, more likely, it was stuffed into a box when we packed up our old house and moved to this godforsaken tin can, and then taken to the farm.  Where it now languishes in stygian gloom beneath lawd knows what boxed rubbish,  and has grown tired of calling to us.   So here we are, a half hour after we should have taken off, drowned and dismal and with the week ahead hanging off us like an extra skin.  And I am feeling like the egregiously air headed flake that I sometimes am. Bali Hi? Sadly, I don’t sink so.

This was going to be our bedroom:

naya

But anyway,  that a leaves me with a whole swathe of unexpected leisure time in which to show you the latest bit of progress in the house.  One, luckily, about which we are wildly enthusiastic. The pictures are a little dark because, ahem, I have a new camera (one birthday present which didn’t go wrong).  A new and, I must confess, somewhat frightening camera.  So frightening in fact that I felt quite unable to attach the flash (a flash that isn’t in-built?  New to me).  Anyway, when I get my confidence, we might all look forward to better pics.  But now,  Ladies and Gents, without any further paffing and faffing, I give you the steel doors (cue a bit of  parping fanfare):

steel door from hall into kitchen

The picture above being from the hall into the kitchen and through to the door into the pantry.  And below, into the pantry:
steel door into pantry

And from the kitchen into the dining room and hallway:

steel door from kitchen to dining room

So that being done, I shall return to my sitting and thinking and failing to believe that anyone could really miss a holiday by dint of a disappearing passport.  I mean, it’s absurd and unbelievable, isn’t it?  (Even now I keep expecting it to sidle around a chair leg and waggle itself for attention).   But actually, I have decided that we shall not sit here moping but gather ourselves up and go forth into the torrential rain and try to extract a bit of fun from this molten, silvery day.  Tally ho!

25 Responses to “Bali bye.”

  1. I feel your disappointment almost as keenly as you do… The image of the mossy stone sculptures made my heart jump with longing and regret! I so love Ubud, I so love Indonesia (there is something in the air, don’y-you-know’. Since my x-husband took me to court for maintenance I haven’t had a holiday and Bali…oh, Bali!
    On a brighter note, your new steel doors look fantastic! Glorious, in fact.

    • And do you know a really lovely thing? We contacted the (German) manager of the (very small) place we were going to stay and his response? He said to send him our bank details again so that he could refund our deposit. Somehow that took the sting out of the whole thing, sufficient that we’re planning to try again in a few weeks. I wish, if we do, that I could bundle a bit of Ubud down the tubes to you. A bit of moss, a few of those animist early morning offerings, some crumbly stone…

      Glad you like the doors – I think they’re rather spesh myself.

      • Here’s to you finding your passport sharpish!~And, oh, if you post a moody picture of a frangipani flower on some animistic, mossy, crumbly sculpture I’ll be in heaven!

  2. Now that is a SAD story…do like the half full approach though, now maybe just maybe there is a good reason for it all, hopefully time will tell!

    • Hey Heather. The glass-half-full is an experiment – to see if it works better than hurling myself down in a gale of anguish. So far so good! And we did stop on the way home tonight to help with a neon sign that had caught fire and was threatening to eat the building – maybe that was the good reason?

  3. Ubud. One of my most favourite places in the entire world. But, as Heather says, maybe there is (or will be) a good reason for you not being able to go. The doors are amazing. I am still carrying out my barn renovation in the Sussex countryside and getting thoroughly disheartened by builders/prices/budgets/builders….you probably get my drift…!!!! We have almost completed Phases I (kitchen) and II (annexe and garden room) in order that we can move into these areas in order to carry out Phase III (main house). Unfortunately our budget for the entire job has been spent (not unwisely, just spent….). The next Phase will NOT, if I have anything to do with it (which I will) have ANY PC sums for ANYTHING…!!!

    • Hi Debbie. ‘builders/budgets/prices/budgets/builders’ – that’s a drift that I regularly get caught in and end up very downstream. Not drifting but drowning! I knows your pain Sistah. And PC costs – when will architects and builders stop estimating three and six for kitchens which actually cost three and sixty arms and legs? I wish you luck – luck, fortitude, a fairy godmother, and a rainbow which ends in the garden of your Sussex barn conversion (the one with little pots of gold handily appended).

  4. Your post sent me hurtling into my briefcase after the third paragraph to find my own, as we are going to Mexico this weekend (for our cancelled Christmas break) and I am renowned for going to the wrong airport, passport maiden/ticket married name, sitting wondering why the flight hasn’t been called when it has… the shame lingers.
    Could you use a morning of this unexpected time to get some camera tutorial, to give you confidence?
    Your doors are just perfect with the sandstone walls, inspired. Bet you’ll go down in the middle of the night just to look at them.

    • Wrong airports, forgotten passports, name confusions – Tricia, could we be twins?

      I’m glad your passport was where you thought it was – have a wonderful break in Mexico.

      And I may squeeze in a half day for the camera and I, but frankly I think we’re looking at millennia.

  5. We felt so sorry for you and Mr Pimp, but are delighted that the Ubud escape might still happen. The Regency Wreck seems to be demanding almost too much of you, and with your possessions scattered across several locations and in many boxes it is no surprise that something important went missing. We hope you can give Mr Pimp a big hug, cast out the memory of this mistake and look forward to the slightly postponed pleasure of the Ubud break.

    • Thank you John.I like that. It all seems so understandable, the way you put it, and I think you’re right. Scattered over too many tasks in too many places. (Could you come up with a plausible explanation for why I appear to have lost my wallet now?!!) X

    • Thank you John.I like that. It all seems so understandable, the way you put it, and I think you’re right. Scattered over too many tasks in too many places. (Maybe that’s why I appear to have lost my wallet now?!!) X

  6. What is it about holidays this year, ours was cut short by family concerns. I hope one day soon you will have a break and enjoy the gentle hospitality of the Balinese.

    I’m glad that you have so many bloggers offering you support and sharing their foibles.

    Your mood was lifted by the rain, mine was too. Yesterday was a beautiful silvery day, the welcome rain and misty landscape on the harbour were soothing to the body and mind. I love the subtle colour scheme and would love to bring it all inside. Maybe its best to enjoy it while it is there or try and interpret in a painting. I am not sure it would work as an interior colour scheme. The longer I have to think about colour the more indecisive I become.

    Love the new doors, great with sandstone!

    • I don’t know whether it’d work or not, but you’ve been keen on it for so long now it seems worth at least getting a palette together maybe? I have a crayzeee jacket J got in the UK – silvers, greys, soft browns. I should bring it over and show you. I do know what you mean about getting more confused the more you think about colour. And yes – that rain! I came out of the house yesterday after seeing R and Mr P and I began looking for lunch. At 3.30. Tried the MCA – cakes only. Tried Baroque – same. Got so wet that I might just have clambered out of a swimming pool fully dressed. Brolly inside out. It was fabulous! X

  7. I kind of like your cracks of vulnerability. The house is looking good and someone obviously didn’t want you going to Bali (this time). C’est la vie. As there are new horizons to conquer just around the corner, keep smiling, and no one will know we lost control back there for about 5 minutes.

  8. Deb Genua Says:

    Those doors! The stone on the wall!! That space!!! I am swooning from the gorgeousness of it all. Here I was, innocently thinking “I’ll have a quick check on RW, a short review of the bathroom pics” and then – my gawd, I was fairly jumping up and down at the sight of the kitchen/pantry area. RW is giddy I tell you, simply giddy in love with her new accessories! On to other matters – please remember to disclose the whereabouts of your missing passport once located (even if it is three years from now). In that way I may finally discover where on earth mine is to. Yes, two weeks before Mexico last year – it was no where and I mean NO WHERE to be found and we were not under construction at the time. After many, many extra dollars and two weeks of panic, a replacement arrived the day before we took off. And, I still wonder where the missing passport is. My fingers are crossed you will be heading over soon, and the timing will reveal itself as perfect. Cheers! Deb

    • Oh lawdy Deb, don’t tell me that! I’m convinced I’ll find mine in a removal box at the farm. But I shall tell you where I find it (if I do ever find it). How tantalising for you that you never found yours – one of life’s unsolved mysteries. Glad you like the doors – I am quite in love with them.

  9. When and before all else fails, food-wise locally (let them eat cake who can) we do have in the freezer “the diet soup” it’s a killer as it has no added sugar, no dairy and no grains of any kind. Sometimes it needs all the fresh herbs I can muster to make it taste better. Just good honest vegetables chopped up and in beef broth. It’s not the sort of thing I’d usually give my visitors, but in times of need you just might drop in and share a bowl or two.
    The recipe was designed (so I’m told) for over weight Americans before they have a heart operation. It’s meant to help us lose weight. In this case it might also gain heart.

    Re: Lost Passport. Do you have an outside zipper in your suitcase where you put books , raincoats etc when you travel? Have you looked there? Look again!

  10. Moving houses and missing things and then having to decide which blessed box you had the good sense to put it in is all part of the hideousness of moving around and I feel greatly for you, but as I read in your comments it is not uncommon and you are not alone in this calamity, if that helps at all with missing out on a much needed holiday. But hooray, you can go another time once you have found it! on a other note those doors are very tidy. Perfectly so possibly. Hold those cracks together for a bit longer, one day it will all be done and all this will be just a memory.

    • I know you know whereof you speak! And we did find the passports – both of them! Too late, of course, to go traipsing around Ubudian delights, but in time for the trek back to the UK in April to see the rellies. I’m glad your own move is over and that you’re obviously unscarred enough to take the challenge of dressing creatively.

  11. Oooh what a super blog.. I love to see owners of Georgian Houses suffering….make me feel that I am not on my own ha ha lol .
    Lynn xxx

    • Hello Lynn and welcome. We’re delighted to suffer for your pleasure! And no, you’re most definitely not on your own. We are legion, we house masochists…

  12. Well, your house is going to be completely amazing. I am an advocate of s-l-o-w design. I think things turn our better. I’m with everyone else, those doors and walls are beyond fabu.
    Best,
    Liz

    • Me too – a fan of slow design. By which I mean living in a place long enough for it all to evolve organically. Not poss when your builder is yelling for everything at once (I know I had two years, but, yannow, it’s hard to visualise a house when it’s not much more than a pile of rubble inside). So the current plan is to get it as nice as we can now, and to make changes and tweak when we’re in, over time.

      Glad you like the doors and walls.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

